BEE MARIE

The butterfly and bee pasture of MaxCine is a hub for questions in the exchange between scientists, nature, environmental education and the public.

You are welcome to visit the BeeMarie at any time, unannounced and free of charge.

 

startbild.jpg

Here's where science, public relations and environmental education meet. 

The Bee Marie provides a valuable habitat for birds, insects and other animals. Wild plants provide food for numerous and valuable insects, including a wide variety of butterfly species and wild bees. Birds find nesting places and butterfly caterpillars find food in a dense hedge.

 

You might also spot a blackbird or a stork with a small transmitter backpack or a live trap for shrews.

The Bee Marie is also used for observations by our scientists, with whom you can exchange information on exciting and varied topics and expand your knowledge.

DSCF6131-acd 6-T 3-.JPG
DSCF6137-acd 6-T 3.jpg

Here you can observe nature and the animal inhabitants from near and far. A small path allows you to get up close and personal and browse through the bee pasture. At the road to the institute there is an information board with integrated binoculars for observation from a distance. 

In the kitchen garden, herbs are planted in spring, and various vegetables are planted, which are harvested again in autumn. The MaxCine team is currently in the process of establishing a permaculture on part of the area.

 

The Bee Marie's namesake, our bees, provide delicious honey. The pasture can also be used for children during workshops or for group games. Every spring there is a "staff-workout", where staff members of the institute work together to get the Bee Marie back in shape.

The foundation stone was laid in spring 2009 in the outdoor area of the Schlossmühle with the participation of the two primary schools in Möggingen, Güttingen and many other children. For the first two years the "Bee Marie" was 60% co-financed by the "PLENUM Westlicher Bodensee".

Sender_hellgrün-01.png
 

WE4BEE

Since summer 2020 MaxCine has been part of the "we4bee" project. This is how the initiators describe their idea:

"we4bee pursues the goal of establishing a worldwide network of high-tech beehives. This will not only promote environmental research and education, but also establish an early warning system for earthquakes and other natural disasters."

At the edge of the bee pasture there is a digitally monitored beehive, which measures data such as temperature, humidity or wind speed around the clock and transmits them to the internet. In addition, two cameras are mounted on the beehive. Under the following link you can find an interior view as well as a view of the entrance hole in addition to the other measured data.

Since May 2021, our hive is finally inhabited. An employee of our institute, who is also a private beekeeper, has "knocked in" a natural swarm into the hive. This is what the professionals call moving a bee colony to a new home. The bees feel very comfortable with us and have already started diligently building new combs.

The data of the digital hive and current photos of the interior and the entrance can be found at the link below. 

we4bee maxcine.jpg

BEE MARIE

Die Schmetterlings- und Bienenweide von MaxCine ist ein Knotenpunkt für Fragestellungen im Austausch zwischen Wissenschaftler:innen, Natur, Umweltbildung und Öffentlichkeit. Gerne können Sie die Bee Marie jederzeit unangemeldet und kostenfrei besuchen.

 

​​Hier treffen sich Wissenschaft, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Umweltbildung.

Die Bee Marie bietet Vögeln, Insekten und anderen Tieren einen wertvollen Lebensraum. Wildpflanzen geben Nahrung für zahlreiche und wertvolle Insekten, darunter vielseitige Schmetterlingsarten und Wildbienen. In einer dichten Hecke finden Vögel Nistplätze und Schmetterlingsraupen Futter. Mit ein wenig Glück kann man dort auch mal eine Amsel mit einem kleinen Senderrucksack oder eine Lebendfalle für Spitzmäuse entdecken.

 

Die Bee Marie wird ebenfalls gerne von unseren Wissenschaftler:innen für Beobachtungen genutzt, mit ihnen kann man sich über spannende und vielseitige Themen austauschen und sein Wissen erweitern.

DSCF6131-acd 6-T 3-.JPG

Bei uns kann man die Natur und die tierischen Bewohner aus Nah und Fern beobachten. Über einen kleinen Pfad kann man hautnah dabei sein und durch die Bienenweide stöbern. An der Straße zum Institut steht eine Informationstafel mit integriertem Fernglas zur Beobachtung aus der Ferne. 

Im Nutzgarten werden im Frühjahr Kräuter und verschiedene Gemüsesorten gepflanzt. Aktuell ist das Team von MaxCine dabei, auf einem Teil der Fläche eine Permakultur zu etablieren.

 

Die Namensgeber der Bee Marie, unsere Bienen, liefern leckeren Honig. Auch für Kinder während Workshops oder für Gruppenspiele kann die Weide wunderbar genutzt werden. Jeden Frühling findet ein "Mitarbeiter:innen-Workout" statt, bei dem alle Mitarbeiter:innen des Instituts zusammenarbeiten und die Bee Marie wieder richtig in Form bringen.

Der Grundstein wurde im Frühjahr 2009 im Außenbereich der Schlossmühle unter Mitwirkung der beiden Grundschulen in Möggingen, Güttingen und vielen anderen Kindern gelegt. Die ersten zwei Jahre wurde die „Bee Marie“ zu 60% vom „PLENUM Westlicher Bodensee“ mitfinanziert.

WE4BEE

Seit Sommer 2020 ist MaxCine Teil des Projekts "we4bee". So beschreiben die Initiatoren ihre Idee:

"we4bee verfolgt das Ziel, ein weltweites Netzwerk aus HighTech-Bienenstöcken zu etablieren. Damit soll nicht nur Umweltforschung und -bildung propagiert, sondern auch ein Frühwarnsystem für Erdbeben und andere Naturkatastrophen etabliert werden. "

Am Rand der Bienenweide steht ein digital überwachter Bienenstock, der rund um die Uhr Daten wie Temperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit oder Windgeschwindigkeit misst und ins Internet überträgt. Außerdem sind zwei Kameras am Bienenstock,  der sogenannten Beute, angebracht. Unter dem unten stehenden Link ist neben den anderen Messdaten eine Innenansicht, sowie eine Ansicht des Einfluglochs zu finden.

Leider wird unser Bienenstock erst im Frühjahr 2021 von einem Schwarm bezogen werden, da sich durch die Corona-Krise einige Verzögerungen ergeben haben. 

we4bee maxcine.jpg